1943 GPW 108175

If you have an unrestored WWII jeep, we would like to see pictures, and hear your comments. NO EBAY or COMMERCIAL SALES.
twinflyer17
G-Colonel
G-Colonel

1943 GPW 108175

Post by twinflyer17 » Wed Jan 06, 2016 9:12 am

Hi All,

I'm technically supposed to be working right now, but things in the office are slow and Jeeps are on my mind! :lol: Figured I would give this a shot and post a few pics of my '43 GPW restoration. At this point, I'm about 95% done. She's mostly wired up, running, and pretty much all together. Still have to get the blackout lights, front and rear, wired up, and also need to quadruple check the wiring of my main push/pull switch, as I'm not sure everything is in the right place :o Besides those things, it's just a matter of going through PA's DOT to transfer an old VA GPW title I have and I should hopefully have her on the road this winter! (though truly enjoying it this spring when the weather warms up :D ).

Just a disclaimer, I'm not a mechanic and this is my first project of this level. Most guys on the GEE are good about recognizing this, but others can be awfully critical, without being constructive! I do appreciate opinions, though, so don't hesitate to throw them my way, as long as they will help me learn more about these old jeeps! I've tried to do the best I could at keeping things as original as possible. The frame, body, fenders, hood, windshield, and combat rims are all original, as well as a fair amount of additional items I salvaged or scrounged online. The electrical system is 12v, with a generator, so I tried to keep it looking 6v without spending the money to convert it back 8). I also bought a T-84 to replace the T-90 that was in it and had it rebuilt. The engine is an early CJ block with a GPW head, so cleaned up and painted gray make it look original.

Honestly, I couldn't have don't 1/4 of this work without having the resources on this site. Talk about useful!!!

Here's what I started with: