M8 Greyhound Project Price?

Armor, Military Vehicles, Wanted, For Sale (NO AUCTION or EBAY), and Knowledge Base
ChaseR83
G-Sergeant
G-Sergeant

M8 Greyhound Project Price?

Post by ChaseR83 » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:41 pm

Hey guys,

I'll be honest and upfront... I'm a newbie when it comes to armor. I've always wanted to own and restore a tank... but that is not in my budget. What I could possibly afford is some kind of armored car. I've been researching Ferrets but I'm also taking a look at M8's. Ferrets are interesting but something with more seats would be a plus.

I've read through old posts on this forum looking for pricing info.... and it seems that restored M8's seem to be selling for 80-120k depending on condition and whether or not the 37mm is registered and live... is that about correct?

How about project condition vehicles? What is the approximate pricing on a project? I know project conditions vary wildly but lets say:

Fairly complete... de-milled breech.... good barrel.... needing total resto?

Missing large parts.... no gun or turret.... needing total resto?

Reading through old posts it sounds like you can drop 25k in a heartbeat trying to assemble a turret with components.

I've been reading through the excellent thread started by Big D and following his M8 restoration.... other than his cut in half hull the rest of the work is right in my comfort zone after years of auto restoration projects.

I'm also very familiar with US laws concerning weapons as I have been collecting Mg/Cannon parts kits for years. I'm familiar with the regs concerning DDs.

Are there any projects left in the US or all they all coming from overseas? Being inexperienced the idea of importing a project seems daunting... plus a project with a good 37mm barrel or breech would have to have it cut to be imported.

What is the US parts availability? Reading through old posts it appears that most people are able to track down what they need.

I'd appreciate any thoughts/advice/opinions.