Rondo's Command Car restoration

Power Wagon truck forums, M37 etc.
rondo
LTC, U.S. Army
LTC, U.S. Army

Rondo's Command Car restoration

Post by rondo » Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:01 am

After gaining inspiration from "The Masters" on here I decided to put up my own restoration thread. The project is intimidating and i'm not sure members have a lot to learn from me but then I figure more information is sometimes better. With all that said enjoy the thread and I welcome advice from everyone.

My goal: to get a WC 1/2 ton Dodge that is a driver, reliable, and mostly original. To do most of the work myself even though i'm a novice mechanically. This will never get judged so upgrading is desirable when necessary.

December 2015 I found this WC6 about 1/2 hour away from me. As a member of the Idaho Military Vehicle Preservation Assoc we know each other and share information, parts, etc. This is an amazing group by the way full of experts and professionals.

I created an excel doc to log exact costs, restoration time, and notes. I know how much I paid for every nut and bolt. this is good and bad of course if the wife ever finds this log. :D
Purchase:
brought the WC home for 1500$. biggest bummer was the rear end that was cut off (of course) but drivetrain was there and it was complete.
Title:
In Idaho getting a title is easy as pie so no worry there. Inspector comes to my house, photographs some data, title in 2 weeks.

Now the tear down starts and the assessment begins.
Attachments
CMDCARb.png
CMDCARb.png (236.07 KiB) Viewed 2069 times
CMDCARa.png
CMDCARa.png (245.22 KiB) Viewed 2069 times
Last edited by rondo on Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
42 GPW; 41WC6
"moral courage is the most valuable and usually the most absent characteristic in men"

rondo
LTC, U.S. Army
LTC, U.S. Army

Re: Rondo's Command Car restoration

Post by rondo » Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:16 am