1944 Hotchkiss

1956-1966, Hotchkiss, Quarter-ton jeep® series, Wanted, For Sale, and Knowledge Base
Ianc484
G-Civilian
1944 Hotchkiss

Post by Ianc484 » Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:00 pm

Hello, I am new to the G503.com forum and to Jeep Willys for that matter. I have recently inherited, what is believed to be, a 1944 Willys MB refurbished by Hotchkiss in 1960. From the research I have done it is a Willys frame and an ACM composite body. I have found many numbers throughout the Jeep, many located on the passenger side frame rail. I have found a website dedicated to Hotchkiss Jeeps, (m201.com) however, I can't seem to find matching numbers to date the Jeep. If anyone can help me better understand what I have I would appreciate it. Thanks again. Image
Glove box data plate (left)
Glove box data plate (middle)
Glove box data plate (right)
Front passenger side frame rail (top)
Number = 05585
Front passenger side frame rail (outside)
Number = 2152
Rear passenger side frame rail (outside)
Number = 027529
Rear passenger side frame rail (inside)
Number = MALT 16095
Motor stamp
Number = 285575
Motor tag
Number = 285575
Date = 19/9/63
Driver side toeboard gusset
Number = 47392
Willys toolbox buttons with Ford lids
Ford style toeboard gussets
Willys front crossmember

Joe Gopan
Jeep Heaven

Re: 1944 Hotchkiss

Post by Joe Gopan » Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:09 am

It sure has a lot of W.O.F. influence, and note the French Army Wiper Motors.
2011 MVPA PIONEER AWARD - MVPA #1064
HONOR GRAD-WHEELED VEHICLE MECHANIC SCHOOL 1960 - US ARMY ORDNANCE SCHOOL(MACHINIST) ABERDEEN PG 1962 - O-1 BIRD DOG CREWCHIEF - 300,000+TROUBLE FREE M-38A1 MILES
LIFE MEMBER AM LEGION-40/8-DAV
7 MIL SPEC MAINTAINED MV'S
COL. BRUNO BROOKS (ARMY MOTORS) IS MY HERO

mr rusty
Sergeant Major of the Gee
Sergeant Major of the Gee

Post by mr rusty » Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:18 am